Jewelery know-how – Douze Paris
Panier

Free delivery

200€

Votre panier est vide

You will love them
You will love them
Pear Triptych
You&Me Brilliant
You&Me Princess

This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.

  • Subscribe to our newsletter here and benefit from -10% on your first order (excluding engagement rings)
  • PAYMENT IN 3 INSTALLMENTS WITHOUT FEES FROM 300€ PURCHASE
  • Free deliveries from 200€ of purchase in Metropolitan France
  • WE PUT OUR SUITCASES IN BORDEAUX FOR A POP-UP, FROM SEPTEMBER 14 TO 17

Jewelery know-how


Each tailor-made project involves different trades , where know-how is at the center of creation so that the result is as aesthetic as possible, of high quality, and above all in response to your expectations! We would like to present to you all of these service providers who are involved in the creative process of your jewelry and without whom, nothing would be possible.

- The gemologist :
is the gem specialist. He carefully chooses fine and precious stones. There are four precious stones: diamond, sapphire, ruby ​​and emerald. The diamond has four distinct characteristics, called 4Cs which are: Carat, Color, Clarity (purity), Cut.
The Carat is the unit of measurement for the weight of a diamond. The diamond is also appreciated according to color criteria.
The white diamond color scale includes 23 shades, classified from D to Z (from more or less white). At Douze Paris, we mainly use G and H color diamonds.
Clarity represents the “flaws”, also called inclusions, present in the diamond. Purity means imperfection, and every diamond contains it. Namely, in most cases, these are not visible to the naked eye and do not affect the brilliance of the diamond. At Douze Paris, we use VS or SI clarity diamonds.
The Cut , for its part, is the quality of the cut of the diamond and represents the only one of the four criteria to depend on the work of man. Its size reveals the sparkle and brilliance of the stone.



- The trading gemologist :
he searches, throughout the world, for stones whose quality and market prices he knows to resell them according to customer demand.

- The lapidary :
is responsible for giving shape to the stones by cutting them, thus giving them high added value. His knowledge of gemology allows him to determine precisely what type of cut is suitable for each stone, and how to enhance it by removing all impurities.


- THE diamond dealer :
He also cuts stones, but specializes in diamonds which, due to their characteristics, require specific techniques and equipment.

- The 3D designer :
helps you to plan on the outcome of the project and allows you to make it more concrete. However, the 3D rendering is not completely representative of reality since the curves are rougher and the colors more garish, but this step is important for the projection of the project.

- The founder :
is the one in charge of casting, a jewelry technique which is the true artisanal starting point in jewelry making. The founder creates a mold from a wax, in which the metal will then take the desired shape.

- The crimper :
takes care of preparing the jewel to receive stones by drilling it. Then he moves on to the actual setting, depending on the type of jewelry, metal and stones he will choose the most suitable setting technique. Depending on the setting technique used, the stone will receive more or less light. Which reveals its shine and colors.

- The polisher :
occurs at the last stage of the project. It polishes the jewel giving it a very beautiful shine. Using various mechanical, manual or chemical techniques, it removes any tool marks or graininess on the jewelry. The metal then takes on a smooth and shiny appearance.

That's it, your Custom Creation or Transformation of old jewelry is ready, and we hope, will accompany you for a lifetime!

Le savoir-faire joaillier


Chaque projet sur-mesure fait intervenir différents corps de métier, où le savoir-faire est au centre de la création pour que le rendu soit le plus esthétique possible, d'une grande qualité, et surtout en réponse à vos attentes ! Nous souhaitons vous présenter l'ensemble de ces prestataires qui interviennent dans le processus créatif de votre bijou et sans qui, rien ne serait possible.

- Le gemmologue :
est le spécialiste des gemmes. Il choisit minutieusement les pierres fines et précieuses. Il existe quatre pierres précieuses qui sont : le diamant, le saphir, le rubis et l'émeraude. Le diamant comprend quatre caractéristiques distinctes, appelées 4C qui sont : le Carat, la Couleur, la Clarity (pureté), la Cut.
Le Carat est l’unité de mesure du poids d’un diamant. Le diamant s’apprécie également selon des critères de couleurs.
L’échelle des Couleurs du diamant blanc comprend 23 nuances, classées de D à Z (du plus ou moins blanc). Chez Douze Paris, nous utilisons principalement des diamants de couleur G et H.
 La Clarity représente les "défauts", également appelés inclusions, présents dans le diamant. Qui dit pureté dit imperfection, et chaque diamant en contient. À savoir, dans la plupart des cas, ces dernières ne sont pas visibles à l'œil nu et n’affectent pas la brillance du diamant. Chez Douze Paris, nous utilisons des diamants de pureté VS ou SI.
La Cut, quant à elle, est la qualité de la taille du diamant et représente le seul des quatre critères à dépendre du travail de l’homme. Sa taille permet de révéler l’éclat et la brillance de la pierre.



- Le gemmologue négociant :
lui, cherche, à travers le monde, des pierres dont il sait reconnaître la qualité et les prix du marché pour les revendre selon la demande des clients.

- Le lapidaire :
est chargé de donner une forme aux pierres en les taillant, leur conférant ainsi une haute valeur ajoutée. Ses connaissances en gemmologie lui permettent de déterminer avec précision quel type de taille est adapté à chaque pierre, et comment la sublimer en lui ôtant toute impureté.


- Le diamantaire :
taille lui aussi des pierres, mais est spécialisé dans le diamant qui par ses caractéristiques nécessite des techniques et du matériel spécifiques.

- Le concepteur 3D :
vous aide à vous projeter sur le rendu du projet et permet de le concrétiser davantage. Cependant, le rendu 3D n'est pas totalement représentatif de la réalité puisque les courbes sont plus grossières et les couleurs plus criardes, mais cette étape est importante pour la projection du projet. 

- Le fondeur : 
est celui en charge de la fonte, une technique joaillière qui est le véritable point de départ artisanal dans la confection des bijoux. Le fondeur créé un moule à partir d’une cire, dans lequel le métal prendra ensuite la forme désirée. 

- Le sertisseur :
s’occupe de préparer le bijou à recevoir des pierres en le perçant. Puis il passe au sertissage à proprement parler, en fonction du type du bijou, du métal et des pierres il va choisir la technique de sertissage la plus adaptée. Selon la technique de sertissage utilisée, la pierre recevra plus ou moins de lumière. Ce qui révèle sa brillance et ses couleurs.

- Le polisseur :
intervient à la dernière étape du projet. Il polit le bijou en lui offrant un très bel éclat. Grâce à diverses techniques mécaniques, manuelles ou chimiques, il ôte toute trace d’outil ou granulosité sur le bijou. Le métal adopte alors un aspect lisse et brillant.

Le tour est joué, votre Création Sur-mesure ou de Transformation de bijoux anciens est prête, et on l'espère, vous accompagnera pour toute la vie !